CoinJar Support

Deactivating your CoinJar

Chris (Perth) -

Our Support team should be able to assist you with any issues you're experiencing with CoinJar and, if you still wish to, they can also assist you to deactivate your account. The entire process should be complete within a couple of hours.
 
You will be asked to complete the following steps, which you are welcome to start now in order to speed up the process.
 
  1. Empty the balances of your CoinJar accounts. For example:
  2. Change your name to "DEACTIVATED ACCOUNT".
    You can change your name by selecting your profile picture in the CoinJar web app, then choosing 'edit' next to your name. Remember to select 'Save' to complete the change.
  3. Submit a support request confirming your understanding of the below information and your desire to deactivate your account.
    • You will not be able to sign up for a new CoinJar using the same email address or mobile phone number in the future. If you wish to use these details in a new account you should change them prior to completing this deactivation request.
    • You will not be able to sign up for a new CoinJar using the same username in the future. This prevents somebody from signing up using your username and receiving funds destined for your CoinJar.
    • Due to the nature of bitcoin, we cannot bounce bitcoin payments which are received in your CoinJar after your account is deactivated. Please contact those who have your CoinJar addresses recorded and ask that they do not send payments to these addresses in the future. In deactivating your account you agree that future payments received by your CoinJar addresses may become property of CoinJar.
    • We will maintain information provided by you in accordance with our Privacy Policy.
    • We don't automatically unsubscribe you from our newsletter. If you don't wish to receive updates from us you may use the personalised unsubscribe link found at the bottom of any CoinJar newsletter.
    • If you signed up recently, you may receive still an automated welcome email from us after your account is deactivated. This is due to these emails being queued before the deactivation request was received.
    • We do not offer full account deletion. This is part of our fraud prevention initiative. Deactivation will lock your account and prevent you, or any other individual, from accessing the account in the future.

 

Updated: 18 Feb 2016 (AS)
Reviewed: 18 Feb 2016 (AS)


Not quite the information you're looking for? We've got you covered. Contact Support and we'll get back to you within a couple of hours, however depending on Support request volume during busy periods, response times may be longer, during open hours.

Comments

Powered by Zendesk